Skip to main content

Physics and Astronomy: Databases & Journals


You must sign in to OneSearch to access our full range of resources.

Use OneSearch to search the for the following resources at once:

  • UWA print collection
  • ebooks
  • journal articles
  • exam papers
  • CMO materials
  • newspaper articles
  • conference proceedings
  • law reports
  • music scores
  • and more

Can't find it at UWA? Get It

If you are a Postgraduate or Honours student and UWA does not have a journal article or book you require you can request it using the Library's Inter-library loan and document delivery service Get It.

Place a request via Get It and we will obtain a copy from another library for you.

Google Scholar

Activate FindIt@UWA links in Google Scholar to access the UWA full text version of articles.  Once activated, you will see FindIt@UWA links - click these and the online, UWA databases will be searched for you.

To activate the FindIt@UWA feature in Google Scholar when off campus:

1.   Go to Google Scholar

2.   Click the option icon (the small white cog in the top right hand corner of the screen)

3.   Select Scholarly preferences

4.   Scroll down the Library Links box and search for University of Western Australia (or UWA, or University of WA)

5.   Tick the checkbox for the option The University of Western Australia (FindIt@UWA)

6.   Click Save Preferences

How to search using Boolean

To help refine your keyword searches it is recommended that you use Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT).  These operators help connect your search terms and are used to broaden or narrow your search results.

AND - Placing AND between search terms instructs the database that both terms must appear somewhere in the results list.

NOT - When you place NOT before a keyword search it instructs the database that the keyword must not appear anywhere in the entry.

OR - Using OR between keywords instructs the database to search either or both of the keywords in the results list.

You are able to combine any of the Boolean operators to build very specific searches.


Welcome to the physics and astronomy guide!  In this guide you will find information resources for these majors. Click on the tabs above, or the In this Guide links to navigate.

Physics & Astronomy databases

 A basic search for journal articles can be done using OneSearch, but the databases listed below will provide more search functions and results specific to this subject.  Use the find it @ uwa icon button to open the full-text or, if you are eligible, order a copy through Get Itnew window if we don't have it

For a complete list of all physics and astronomy databases held at UWA, go to Find Databases on the Library's guide page.  Choose a list by the subject Life & Physical Sciences : Physics

Multidisciplinary databases

Top journals in Physics

A list of the most highly cited journals across all the Physics categories from Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports 2010.

Top journals in Astronomy

A list of the most highly cited journals in the category Astronomy & Astrophysics from Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports 2010.