Skip to main content

History: Databases/journals

This guide will help you to find resources for history

University Library

The Library is your Gateway to the library, its collections and the many services it has in store for you. Click on the image and start to explore

Access OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search the following resources at once:

  • UWA print collection
  • ebooks
  • journal articles
  • UWA theses and dissertations

Sign in to OneSearch to:

  • access your private workspace, e-Shelf, to view saved results and items
  • access the course material online for your units
  • access past examination papers  (At your lecturers' discretion)

See  OneSearch to access quality information sources to learn how

Find databases

A list of databases by disciplines is accessible on the main library webpage below the OneSearch box

Kanopy

Assignment date calculator

Enter the due date into the Assignment Date Calculator to get an instant plan of attack with links to advice and resources.

Assignment date calculator

Useful UWA resources

Introduction

Welcome to the History guide! In this guide you will find information resources for your History major. Click on the tabs to navigate.

Reproduced under Creative Commons license

Find information resources using databases

Search the following databases to find information resources (e.g. journal articles and book chapters) on your subject. Using OneSearch will search across a number of databases at one time. You can also use the Find Databases page to browse through databases related to your topic.

Journals

History journals exist in a great multitude and identifying key titles exceeds the scope of this guide. Some of the databases listed above are especially suited to identify titles of interest for your research topics: JSTOR, Historical abstracts or Periodicals index online in particular.

To search for History related journals, type relevant keywords into the OneSearch box on the Library webpage, select 'journal titles' from the drop down menu, and click 'search'. Examples might be 'Austral* histor*', 'Europ* histor*', ' Modern Americ* histor*' or many others, depending on your area of interest. Including the truncation symbol * will allow your search to include all endings of the word for example 'histr**' will include keywords history, historical, historically, historiography etc

 

  After your initial search, use the limits presented on the left of the screen to refine your results.

 

 

Find UWA full text articles in Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar logo

 

Google Scholar lets you search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines. Google Scholar is freely searchable and oftens offers direct access to the full text or through "Find it at UWA".

Activate the FindIt@UWA links in Google Scholar to access the UWA full text version of articles. Once activated, you will see FindIt@UWA links - click these and the online, UWA databases will be searched for you.

To activiate the FindIt@UWA feature in Google Scholar when off campus:

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Click ton Settings (the small black co- the last icon in the top menu)
  3. Select Library Links in the left hand side menu
  4. Enter University of Western Australia (or UWA, or University of WA) in the search box and click on the magnifying glass
  5. Tick the checkbox for the option The University of Western Australia (FindIt@UWA)
  6. Click Save

Figure 1: FindIt@UWA link in Google Scholar