Skip to main content

Chicago citation style examples: Chicago examples

A guide to using the Chicago citation referencing style for footnotes and reference lists.

Chicago Citation Style Notes and Bibliography System (16th A)

This guide provides examples of the Chicago Citation Style Notes and Bibliography System (16th A).

This referencing style requires footnotes in text when citing, and a bibliography at the end of your document listing all the works that you have cited and any other works you have consulted, the bibliography should be arranged alphabetically by author.

For additional examples and explanations, or in doubt, please refer to Chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition.

Chicago Citation Style Examples Print Version (PDF)

Chicago Citation Style Examples for UWA

 

Books and eBooks Lecture Notes
Journal Articles Theses
Internet/Websites Personal Communication
Images and Plans Citing information someone else has cited
Conference papers and proceedings Using ibid.
Multimedia and Audio Visual  

 

Books & eBooks

If a book is available in more than one format (i.e. print, eBook), cite the version you consulted.

Material Type

Footnote example

Subsequent note entry

Bibliography example

Book: Single Author

11. Richard Read, Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes (Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002), 65.

25. Read, Art and its Discontents, 70.

Read, Richard. Art and its Discontents: The Early Life of Adrian Stokes. Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 2002.

Book: Two or more authors

* Authors are listed in the same order used on the title page for both the note and the bibliography.

8. Philip D. Goldswain, Hannah Lewi and Emma Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation (Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001), 83.

 

 

 

  

12. Goldswain, Lewi and Williamson, Visualising the Architecture of Federation, 88.

 

 

 

 

Goldswain, Philip D., Hannah Lewi, and Emma Williamson. Visualising the Architecture of Federation. Perth, WA: Curtin University of Technology and The National Council for the Centenary of Federation, 2001.

 

* In the bibliography only the first author's name is inverted and a comma must appear before and after the first author's given name or initial

 

Book: Four or more authors

* In the note, list only the first author, followed by et al. ("and others")

11. Christopher Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Captital in the 21st Century (Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004), 32.

 

 

20. Vernon et al., The Griffin Legacy, 41.

 

 

 

Vernon, C.S. MacKenzie, I. Wood-Bradley, and D. Headon. The Griffin Legacy: Canberra, the Nation's Captial in the 21st Century. Canberra, ACT: National Capital Authority, 2004.

*List all the authors in the bibliography

 

 

Book: No author

4. The Australian Oxford Dictionary, 3rd ed. (Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1999), 1386.

7. The Australian Oxford dictionary, 1490.

The Australian Oxford Dictionary. 3rd ed. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1999.

 

Book: Editor, translator or compiler

2. Philip D. Goldswain and William Taylor eds., An everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer (Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010), 10.

 

11. Goldswain and Taylor, eds., An Everyday Transience, 7.

 

Goldswain, Philip D and William Taylor, eds. An Everyday Transience: The Urban Imaginary of Goldfields Photographer John Joseph Dwyer. Perth, WA: UWA Publishing, 2010.

 

Book: Editor, translator or compiler in addition to author

12. Heinz Rasch, Some Roots of Modern Architecture, trans. and ed. George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek (London: Tiranti, 1967), 20.

18. Heinz Rasch, Some roots of modern architecture, 22.

Rasch, Heinz. Some Roots of Modern Architecture. Translated and edited by George Jelinek and Joan Jelinek. London: Tiranti, 1967.

Book: Corporate or Organisation as author

8. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009 : Public Spaces and Public Life (Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1994), 105.

12. Gehl Architects, Perth 2009, 107.

 

Gehl Architects. Perth 2009: Public Spaces and Public Life. Perth, WA: Department of Planning and Urban Developments, 1994.

 

Book: Government publication

5. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region (Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991) 21.

 

 

9. Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development, Metropolitan centres, 22.

Western Australian Department of Planning and Urban Development. Metropolitan Centres: Policy Statement for the Perth Metropolitan Region. Perth, W.A.: Department of Planning and Urban Development, 1991.

 

 

Book: Chapter or part of a book

3. Christopher Vernon and George Seddon, "Hacket and Annear: Laying the Foundations, "in A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, ed. George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006), 32-33.

6. Vernon and Seddon, "Hackett and Annear, "34.

 

 

Vernon, Christopher, and George Seddon. "Hackett and Annear: Laying the Foundations." In A Landscape for Learning: A History of the Grounds of The University of Western Australia, edited by George Seddon and Gillian Lilleyman, 30-35. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2006.

 

Book: Edition other than first

1. Quentin Beresford and Gary Partingon, Reform and resistance in aboriginal education: the Australian experience, rev.ed. (Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012), 55.

5. Beresford and Partington, Reform and resistance, 57.

 

Beresford, Quentin, and Gary Partington. Reform and resistance in aboriginal education: the Australian experience. Rev. ed. Perth: University of Western Australia Press, 2012.

 

eBook

*For eBooks consulted online, list a URL; include an access date only if one is required by your discipline. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter or other number.

1. Simon Unwin, Analysing Architecture (Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009), http://uwa.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.
edu.au/patron/FullRecord.aspx?p=369114

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Unwin, Analysing Architecture, 22.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unwin, Simon. Analysing Architecture. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2009.
http://uwa.eblib.com.auezproxy.library.uwa.edu.au/patron/FullRecord.
aspx?p+369114

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journal Articles

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Journal Article in print

12. Philip Goldswain, "State Theatre Centre," Architecture Australia 100, no. 2 (2011): 54.

15. Goldswain, "State Theatre Centre," 54.

Goldswain, Philip. "State Theatre Centre." Architecture Australia 100, no. 2 (2011): 49-57.

Journal article online (with a DOI)

19. Aimee Walshaw, "Accommodating Poverty: The Housing and Living Arrangements of the English Poor, C. 1600-1850," Housing Studies 27, no. 5 (2012): 726.
doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/02673037.2012.
617922

23. Walshaw, "Accommodating Poverty," 727.

Walshaw, Aimee. "Accommodating Poverty: The Housing and Living Arrangements of the English Poor, C. 1600-1850." Housing Studies 27, no. 5 (2012): 726-27. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/02673037.2012.617922

Journal article online (with a URL)

 

 

5. Richard Read, "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stoke's Autobiographies: Fantasy, Providence and Isolation in Post-War British Aesthetics,"Art History 35, no. 4 (2012): 779. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct
=true&db=aph&AN=78361910&site=ehost
-live (accessed September 5, 2013).

 

 

 

8. Read, "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stokes's Autobiographies: Fantasy, Providence and Isolation in Post-War British Aesthetics," 780.

 

Read, Richard. "Vico, Virginia Woolf and Adrian Stokes's Autobiographies: Fantasy, Providence and Isolation in Post-War British Aesthetics. "Art History 35, no. 4 (2012): 778-795.
http:search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=78361910
&site=ehost-live

 

 

 

Journal article online (from a database, no DOI or stable URL)

*Include the name of the database or URL of journal article web page

7. Simon Anderson, "Perth Arena," Architecture Australia 102, no.5 (2013): 35, Academic Search Premier.

 

 

 

9. Anderson, "Perth Arena," 36.

 

 

 

Anderson, Simon. "Perth Arena." Architecture Australia 102, no. 5 (2013): 34-41. Academic SearchPremier.

 

 

 

         

Internet/Websites

Author, title of the page or post, title or owner of the site, date it was posted (if available), access date and URL.

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Webpage

15.  Keith Schneider, “Salt Lake City is Finding a Payoff in Conservation,” New York Times, November 7, 2007, accessed June 13, 2016, http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/07/business/businessspecial3/07cities.htm

 * Include a publication date or modification as well as an access date. If no publication date or modification date can be determined include access date.

 

 

Schneider, Keith.  “Salt Lake City is Finding a Payoff in Conservation.” New York Times, November 7, 2007. Accessed June 13, 2016.  http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/07/business/businessspecial3/07cities.htm

 

 

Webpage: No Author

8. "History of the Library and collections," Royal British Association of Architects, accessed April 4, 2013, http://www.architecture.com./LibraryDrawings
AndPhotographs/RIBALibrary/History.aspx.

16. Royal British Association of Architects, "History of the Library and collections."

Royal British Association of Architects. "History of the Library and collections." Accessed April 4, 2013.  http:www.architecture.com/Library
DrawingsAndPhotographs/RIBALibrary/History.aspx.

 

Webpage: No Date

12. "Weaver Hawkins," Design & Art Australia Online, last modified April 4, 2013,
http://www.daao.org.au/bio/weaver-hawkins/

17. Design & Art Australia Online, "Weaver Hawkins."

Design & Art Australia Online. "Weaver Hawkins." Last modified April 4, 2013.
http://www.daao.org.au/bio/weaver-hawkins/

 

 

 

 

Blog

* Add the word blog in brackets after the name of the blog (unless the word blog is part of the name)

4. Tamara Winikoff, "Visual artists' fees: what is the status of artists in Australia?," The NAVA Blog, November 9, 2013,
http://www.visualarts.net.au/navablogs/artistfees-artshub0.

 

Winikoff, "Visual artists' fees."

 

 

 

Winikoff, Tamara. "Visual artists' fees: what is the status of artists in Australia?" The NAVA Blog. November 9, 2013.
http://www.visualarts.net.au/navablogs/artistfees-artshub0.

 

 

Facebook

3. Tony Abbott's Facebook page, accessed July 25, 2013,
http://www.facebook.com/TonyAbbottMP.

24. Abbott, Facebook post.

Tony Abbott's Facebook page. Accessed July 25, 2013. https://www.
facebook.com/TonyAbbottMP.

Twitter

32. UWA news, Twitter post, September 14, 2011, 8:50 a.m., https://twitter.com/uwanews.

34. UWA news, Twitter post.

UWA news Twitter post. Accessed September 14, 2011.
http://twitter.com/uwanews.

Images and Plans

You can put the information in a caption near the image or in a footnote.  (Images are not usually listed in a bibliography).

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Image: Print

Luca Signorelli, "Acts of the Antichrist", in Michelangelo's Last Judgement: the Renaissance response, Bernadine Barnes (Berkeley, California: University of California Press, 1998), 111.

Signorelli, "Acts of the Antichrist".

Signorelli, Luca. "Acts of the Antichrist". In Michelangelo's Last Judgement: the Renaissance response, Bernadine Barnes, 111. Berkeley, California: University of California Press, 1998.

Image: Online

6.  Georgia O’Keeffe, The Cliff Chimney, 1938, oil on canvas, 36 x 30 in., Milwaukee Art Museum, accessed August 10, 2016, https://gokmrc.wordpress.com/2014/09/22/a-hike-at-ghost-ranch/.

 

 

Conference papers and proceedings

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Conference Proceeding Paper: Print

12. P.D. Goldswain, "Prospecting: photography and the manufactured landscapes of Kalgoorlie," in XX111 Annual Conference of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand, 2006, edited by Terrance McMinn, John Stephens, and Steve Basson (Fremantle, Western Australia: Society of Architectural Historians, Australia & New Zealand, 2006), 173-177.

17. Goldswain, Prospecting.

 

 

 

 

Goldswain, P.D. "Prospecting: photography and the manufactured landscapes of Kalgoorlie." In XX111 Annual Conference of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand, 2006, ed. Terrance McMinn, John Stephens, and Steve Basson, 173-177. Fremantle, Western Australia: Society of Architectural Historians, Australia & New Zealand, 2006.

Conference Proceeding Paper: Electronic

19. P.H. Bay, "Social and environmental dimensions in ecologically sustainable design: towards a methodology of ranking levels of social interactions in semi-open and open spaces in dense residential environments in Singapore," in Subtropical Cities 2011: Subtropical Urbanism Beyond Climate Change, (Florida: Florida Atlantic, 2011), 162-176, accessed September 19, 2011,
http://www.subtropicalcitites2011.com/pdf2/162%20Bay.pdf.

29. Bay, Social and environmental dimensions in ecologically sustainable design, 167.

 

 

 

Bay, P.H. "Social and environmental dimensions in ecologically sustainable design: towards a methodology of ranking levels of social interactions in semi-open and open spaces in dense residential environments in Singapore," In Subtropical Cities 2011: Subtropical Urbanism Beyond Climate Change, 162-176. Florida: Florida Atlantic, 2011. Accessed September 19, 2011.
http://www.subtropicalcities2011.com/pdf2/162%20Bay.pdf.

 

Multimedia formats & Software

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Subsequent Note Entry

Reference List & Notes

DVD

1. Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos, directed by Miriam Stannage (Perth, WA: Mirian Stannage, 1998), DVD.

4. Tom Gibbons

Tom Gibbons: 1998 LWAG and Artplace expos. DVD. Directed by Miriam Stannage. Perth, WA: Miriam Stannage, 1998.

Lecture Notes

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Lecture Notes

15. Nigel Westbrook, "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture" (lecture, University of Western Australia, Crawley, WA, April 18, 2007).

18. Westbrook, "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture".

Westbrook, Nigel. "Le Corbusier and Modern Architecture." Lecture, University of Western Australia, Crawley, WA, April 18, 2007.

Theses

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Thesis: Unpublished in print

 

5. John J. Taylor, "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture" (Ph. D., University of Western Australia, 2009), 34-35.

 

14. Taylor, "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture", 101.

Taylor, John J. "Joseph John Talbot Hobbs (1864-1938): and his Australian-English architecture." Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009.

 

Thesis: Unpublished electronic copy

10. Annette Nina Condello, "Luxury and architecture : from ancient Sybaris to the early twentieth century" (Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009), 25,
http://repository.uwa.edu.au:80/R/-?func=dbin-jump-
full&object_id=13042&silo_library=GEN01

16. Condello, "Luxury and architecture", 34.

Condello, Annette Nina. "Luxury and architecture: from ancient Sybaris to the early twentieth century". Ph.D., University of Western Australia, 2009.
http://repository.uwa.edu.au:80/R/-?func=dbin=jump-full&object
_id=13042&amo; silo_library=GEN01.

Personal Communication

Material Type

Footnote Example

Subsequent Note Entry

Bibliography Example

Email

11. Joe Bloggs, “Architecture today”, e-mail to author, September 20, 2015.

16.  Pauline Smith, e-mail message to author, December 8, 2014.

 

*As emails are generally not available to the public, they are not usually listed in the bibliography.  Instead, list the email in the text or in a footnote. 

Interview: by Author

12.  Janet Andrews (principal adviser, Invest Architects), in discussion with the author, July 2013.

 

*Unpublished interviews are best cited in text or in notes, though occasionally appear in bibliographies.

Interview: published

8.  Donald E. Felsinger, “Turning Energy Uncertainty into Opportunity,” interviewed by Clifford Krauss.  New York Times, May 3, 2008, late edition, sec. C.

 

Felsinger, Donald E.  “Turning Energy Uncertainty into Opportunity.”  Interview by Clifford Krauss.  New York Times, May 3, 2008, late edition, sec. C.

Citing information someone else has cited

Material Type

Secondary Citation

Citing a secondary source is generally discouraged, since authors are expected to have examined the works they cite. If an original source is unavailable both the original and the secondary source must be listed.

Using Ibid.

If you cite the same source and page number(s) from a single source two or more times consecutively, the corresponding note for the second citation onwards should use the word "Ibid.," an abbreviated from of Latin "ibidem" which means "in the same place." If you use the same source but a different page number, the corresponding note should use "Ibid." followed by a comma and the new page number(s).

e.g.         7. Schillaci, Architectural renderings, 251.

               8. Ibid., 271-273.

               9. Ibid.

              10. Ibid., 450.

              11. Smith, Contemporary art, 17.

              12. Ibid., 20.